Australia…na?

I seem to have developed a strange habit of reading Australian books in the US. The first day I was here (this time around) I read Romulus, My Father, by Raimond Gaita; and then Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey. Last year, it was The Great World, by David Malouf – and come to think of it, less than a month ago I read Fly Away Peter by him too.

I’m sure it won’t last – in fact, I know it won’t, as the next book on my list is The Beautiful Struggle, by Ta-Nehisi Coates.

But before that, there’s The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty. I didn’t actually realise this one was Australian – even though the recommendation came from three awesome Aussie ladies (these two + my sister), when I saw it on the 3-for-the-price-of-2 table with its pink and white cover and the endorsement The #1 New York Times Bestseller (plus “So good, you won’t be able to keep it to yourself.” – USA Today), I just assumed it would be full of moms and pumpkin spice.

But no. Cheese-and-vegemite sandwiches, Australia Day BBQs, and mums all around. Don’t read that as a complaint – Australianness notwithstanding, it’s very very unlike the literature listed above, in that it’s not about War, or Immigration, or Prejudice or other Issues (at least not yet). And that makes a lovely change, one I can put up with being a bit patriotic for.


You should definitely read those other books too though. They are all excellent.

Leave a Reply

