$1,000,000,000

What would you do if you won the lottery? My mum asked me today.

We threw around a few of the usual things – Go on a holiday! Buy a house! – before we got to the question of work.

I would definitely definitely want to keep working; that is, researching. I have so so many things I want to learn about, things I want to study, questions I want to raise. And I still, as life continues, even without the money, will probably get the chance to investigate at least some of those things. So money wouldn’t change everything, I’m lucky like that.

What it would change, is the fact of having to spend time thinking about it. If I didn’t have to worry about finding a job in a hurry, if I could hire an RA to take some of the time-pressures off recruitment and data analysis, if I could travel to a conference without having to angst about accommodation and flights… if, if, if.

Then again, just right now the breaking news on twitter is that Turkey has shot down a Russian plane, so maybe if I got a billion dollars I would give it to those who’d spend it on less self-centred things. Like, world peace.

Leave a Reply

